Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

Five engineers who created the Internet and the World Wide Web have together won the inaugural £1 million Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering for their innovations, which have revolutionised the way we communicate and enabled the development of whole new industries. Today a third of the world’s population use the Internet and it is estimated to carry around 330 Petabytes of data per year, enough to transfer every character ever written in every book ever published 20 times over.

  • Louis Pouzin, Robert Kahn, Vinton Cerf
  • – together developed protocols which make up the fundamental architecture of the Internet.

  • Tim Berners-Lee – created the world-wide web
  • Marc Andreessen – wrote the Mosaic browser

Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *